Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

STI edge- Dawson CRP or Brazos HP tuned?

Covfefe

Starting to get very serious about purchasing an STI edge in 40 for limited.

Would you grab this Dawson CRP (competition ready pistol) for $2,295? Typical upgrades. Assembled and test fired. Chrome finish. 

https://dawsonprecision.com/sti-2011-edge-40-s-w-competition-ready-pistol-hard-chrome-finish/

or this Brazos blued (high performance edge) for $2,400? The upgrades plus they break the whole thing down and tune it with a 3lb break. Not sure what the stock pull would be from Dawson. 

http://www.brazoscustom.com/sti_guns/HP_Edge.htm

I'm new to 1911's so Brazos appeals to me...seems like they really send it perfected and I don't have the tools or expertise to trouble shoot the gun.

However, Dawson's is respected and assembles the gun, so I guess it'll be GTG too. Cheaper and chrome is sexy, I suppose. 

Help! 

I've got several CRP guns from Dawson's...I've ended up putting a Brazos tuned trigger group in the one I shoot the most. So if the Brazos package includes tuning the trigger group I'd go that way.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

10 minutes ago, TeedOff said:

I've got several CRP guns from Dawson's...I've ended up putting a Brazos tuned trigger group in the one I shoot the most. So if the Brazos package includes tuning the trigger group I'd go that way.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Interesting. Thanks for the input. 

I have an Edge CRP in blue. It came with a 3 and 1/2 pound trigger. I tweaked the sear spring and got it down to 2 and 1/2.

That's not a bad thing because while you have it apart you can clean the insides and deburr any rough spots. 

It's also a good time to pin the grip safety, if you are so disposed.

Let me just add that it's also a good time to change some springs, which you'll inevitably have to do with the Edge. I shoot Major with my gun so am currently running a 13 pound recoil spring with a 19 pound mainspring. A good combination.