Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What 2011 Race Gun for Me?

brennon272

Hello everyone!

I know this is my first post, but ive been patrolling this forum for about two years now, and ive mostly been involved in Single Stack competitive shooting. Ive saved my pennies and am ready to go for the open division as its something ive always wanted to do. Ive got a maximum budget of around 7500$. So i should have a good many options from what ive been seeing. I love the SVI and Limcat guns but a 1+year wait is a bit too long for me. I've been thinking about just purchasing an STI Grandmaster in 9mm and shoot 9 major out of it and then just replace the grips and add accessories as i go, since the GM is readily available. Any input would be greatly appreciated! I already reload so im gtg in that department, however i will need a new holster system, and i am a lefty so any input on what you guys/gals like the most is greatly appreciated!

I wouldn't go for the STI GM. It's too much money and a heavy gun, no true custom features. You'll learn a lot when you first enter open that will allow you to make a more educated decision as to what you want. A reliable used gun may be the better route. Keep saving your pennies in the meantime and buy what suits you when you have facts to support what will suit your shooting style and needs. Good luck in open, be patient and it will come to you.

I've got a maximum budget of 7500$.

I love the SVI and Limcat guns but a 1+year wait is long.

I've been thinking about purchasing an STI Grandmaster in 9mm major

I'd go with (MATTER OF FACT , I DID) go with a TruBor for $2500 or so -= great gun

for the past 7 years.

Makes a great backup gun if you decide to spend $7000, down the road (may not need to): :cheers:

Another big +1 for Akai. Short wait time compared to other top smiths, he uses excellent parts, has an astronomical amount of knowledge and is a super cool dude as well!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Edited by SouthernGunsLLC