Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Need purchase advice

rjtmac

I have made the decision to go the reloading route.

With what limited knowledge I have, research has pointed me to the decision that if I am going to do this I am going with a progressive unit.

• Dillon XL650

Realizing this is the base price and I think there will be approximately another $600.00 give or take investment in dies and accessories I need help.

I will be reloading for a 45 ACP (Kimber), 380 Auto (Ruger) and a 38 Special Revolver (Smith & Wesson) to start with. Would like to also do 243 Rifle (Winchester) .

What are all of the components I need on initial purchase to be set up to do this ? I have read and read on this site and others and the more I read the more confused I become.

I have no benchmark or knowledge pool to draw from here.

Help and guidance please and thanks in advance....

http://www.brianenos.com/pages/dillonfaqs.html

+1, this is how and where I purchased mine. it is a pretty good spread of ammo you want to load small and large primer.

Caliber conversions with complete tool heads set up with dies and powder funnel is the way to go, makes it easy to switch from one to another caliber. You may also need a second primer system. Two things I am glad to have purchased extra are the strong mount and roller handle. The 650 is a great machine.

Two questions to think about:

1. how many rounds of each caliber are you planning on reloading/month or year?

As you mentioned, the 650 is expensive and requires large volumes to

pay for the machine.

I reload about 10,000 9mm's per year, and have a lot of spare time, so

I use a Square Deal, which is a lot cheaper than a 650.

2. how handy are you - the SD is really easy to use - from what I've read,

I don't believe I have the technical knowledge capability of getting a

650 up and running smoothly. If you're a handy guy, disregard this one...

You might set up, as an example, two SD's, for less than the cost of a 650,