Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

best budget 1911

countryboy223

i am new to shooting sports and also want to try to compete in single stack. what 1911 gives you the best bang for your buck right out of the box. i have looked at the kimber customs and they look pretty good. are there any better 1911"s out there for the price? im looking at around 1000 dollars as my limit.

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I would look at the STI Trojan great gun for price and easily customizable. If you are looking to spend a little more (maybe a lot) check out the Les Baers top end guns for not as high of a price as the nighthawks or Wilsons.

The Trophy matches are up there past 1k. If you can afford it the Les Bear lines are pretty damn good for the price. If I had 1k to spend though I would try to find somebody that knows what to look for and go looking for a Springfield Range Officer or a Spartan. On the Spartan make sure you look it over sometimes they are hit and miss with fit.

RIA tactical. send it to a smith and let them do their magic. for $900 you will have a gun that rivals $3000 customs. there is a target version too.

just curious... hope the op will not mind. What kind of work will you have done with a RIA Tac base?

Thanks!

The Taurus is a piece of junk.

The Spartan is an exceptional value.

The Springfield Range Officer is overpriced and lacks a number of the features I'd expect to see at its price point.

And the Spartan requires no break in shooting. I bought one on a Friday, lubed it, and shot a match with it the next day.

what are the differences between the spartan and the trojan and are they worth the differences in price?

The Trojan has frontstrap STIpling and a ramped barrel. It is also 100% Made in the USA by STI.

The Spartan is a Philippine-made gun with an STI hammer, sear, disconnector, trigger, and adjustable rear sight. It does not have a ramped barrel in 9mm or .45 (both of the calibers it's offered in).