Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

IDPA or USPSA - which shoots more from prone

Hi. I'm just starting out and I'm comparing IDPA to USPSA. I have a bit of a back problem that makes shooting from prone painful. I can do it some, but too much and I'm in bad shape for a while.

So, as I'm looking into the two sports, one of the things I'll be looking for is which sport has a tendency to shoot more (or less) from the prone position.

I know that this can vary a lot and so I'm wondering what your experiences are with this. If for some odd reason, there has already been discussion of this, please help direct me to it.

Thanks in advance!

IDPA seldom shoots from prone at least in the area I shoot. We shoot a lot from kneeling, usually standing to kneeling. Hardly ever have to get up and move from there. You will probably see more of prone at bigger matches in either sport.

FWIW

Richard

PS: kneeling hurts like h..l for some of us old farts with bad knees.

Stick with IDPA if you are looking for less movement. There is rarely more than two shooting positions and the amount of movement between the two is minimal. Often, when shooting prone, it will be the last position and you can take as much time getting up as you need. :P Best of luck with which ever game you choose.

Around here, dont really do prone in USPSA. Some low ports occasionally but pretty much kneeling then. Best thing to do would be ask the locals that shoot the matches as the stagers usually have a local trend depending on the match director. I know around here when we switched match directors the stages went from alot of hose fests to more accuracy requited stages