For 9mm MAJOR Topics

benos

• Replies 218
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

To improve search results, If the Topic you start is about a 9mm Major load, please include:

9mm Major

... in the Topic's Title.

be

Thanks, Brian, appreciate it.

I think there are two good reasons for this, as

some people have pointed out:

1. makes searches easier

2. differentiates between 9mm minor and major

(many posts don't mention which they mean,

and you have to know by experience which

is being discussed) - this is a safety

issue for new reloaders.

I think this will help a bit.

Jack

• 3 months later...

What is the difference between 9mm Major and Minor. I'm new to this and just don't know. Thanks

Major = 4 EXTRA GRAINS OF POWDER, 124gr at 1378 fps and 115gr at 1500 fps versus minor at 1000 fps for 124gr or 1140 for 115gr.

Coco, I think that's not quite what he asked/meat.

USPSA has 2 separate power factors in which you can shoot (in pistol, anyway), Major and Minor. Major power factor ammo scores higher than minor power factor ammo. Major power factor is anything 165+, where as minor is everything under 165 down to 125. This is how the power factor is calculated: you take the velocity of the round (as fired through a chrono), and multiply it by the weight in grains of the bullet (before firing), then divide by 1000. This requires that a bullet be pulled and weighed. So, a 180 grain bullet, going 1005FPS has a power factor of 180.9 (180 X 1005 / 1000= PF). Minor is generally used in production division, as all rounds, regardless of PF, are scored minor, so people generally load down as low as they can go, to make the gun easier to handle.

• 4 weeks later...

Is there anyway you can make a separate forum area for Open Gun loads vs Production / IDPA loads.