Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

115? 124? 147? JHP?

rbuck

• Replies 90
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

In OPEN, there's no advantage to the 147's   .

Most common is the 124's because they're easier to load without the powder

spilling out of the case.  The 115's take More Powder to make Major - so

the powder doesn't leave a Lot of Room for the bullet.

BUT, some people really love the 115's (Or 121's as a compromise) - 

I've been shooting 124's for nine years - but thinking of going back to 115's

when I run out of my Pre-Election horde of 124's    :) 

If you're not sure, I'd say start with a real good supply of PD JHP's 124's

and see if you want to stay with them after you get some experience    :) 

Hello: Stick with 115's. Use a good powder like HS-6 or Silhouette. If you go to 121's or 124's try some Winchester Auto comp and HS-6. I am testing some 121 Montana Golds right now with HS-6. Not sure if they are any better than my 115 load. Thanks, Eric

I go for consistency.  I want the dot to track straight up and down with no squirming, and return to the dame place.  I pick the powder and bullet combination that makes that happen.  I cannot figure out why that is.  For example, with one particular bullet loaded to 172PF, HS-6 produces the least felt recoil and slightly less muzzle rise.  However the dot squirms.  Using WAC or Silhouette, it tracks straight.  

BTW, I would not bother trying the 147 unless you are trying to make Major without the excessive pressure.

Edited by zzt