Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Sandbagging a classifier?

Bigpops

First off - I am new to the shooting sports so I am learning, so please enlighten me - Why do people openly brag about sandbagging a classifier/qualifier? I am confused as to what there is to gain by this practice.

I have my initial feelings on this, but before I state them I would prefer to hear an explaination. I have witnessed this on several occassions and have bit my tongue.

Feel free to PM me if you don't want to post for all to read.

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

First off - I am new to the shooting sports so I am learning, so please enlighten me - Why do people openly brag about sandbagging a classifier/qualifier? I am confused as to what there is to gain by this practice.

I have my initial feelings on this, but before I state them I would prefer to hear an explaination. I have witnessed this on several occassions and have bit my tongue.

Oh boy... If there was a popcorn.... anyway, I don't know of many people that brag about sandbagging. Some people do it so they can keep their classification low and have a better chance of winning their class or getting something from the prize table.

It's one reason why I would like to see match performance included more in the classification system.

If they're openly bragging about tanking a classifier, report it to the club President or your Section Coordinator.

Rich

ETA: I'm for eliminating the classification system at anything above a club match. I like the concept of Mike Dalton. Classifications work at the club level as it's a guide for improvement. At bigger matches, overall finish is all that matters.

Edited by uscbigdawg

I may get joked around with if I tank a classifier being accused of "sandbagging". But I don't know many people that will openly brag about purposely sandbagging a classifier.