Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Getting more LEO's to come shoot?

Jay6

I am looking for ways to maybe open the door for more LEO's to come shoot at our local matches. I thought about sending a letter to local PD's inviting them to a match or possible holding one just or them in order to get them interested. Since this seems like a largely untapped group of shooters in our area I think it would be positive for everyone involved. Anyone tried anything similar or have any words of wisdom? I want to try and stay away from offering a free shoot which might upset our other attendees but I am looking for a way to "get our foot in the door" so to speak.

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I know that around here it is easier to pull teeth than to get cops out to shoot. I am an instructor for a medium sized Sheriff's office. I offered free ammo to shoot a match. All the guys had to do was show up. Not one. I get lots of excuses, but I believe the underlying cause is that the guys are afraid of being embarrassed. Those that do come out, often don't come back. Ego is a powerful thing....

Testify, brother..... :rolleyes:

Find the LEOs that want to shoot and/or compete and take care of them with ammo, photocopies of articles that helped you, copies of magazines, etc.

If they are gonna drink, they will come to the well themselves.....unfortunately....

Keep up the good fight!

DougC

Our range owner has invited local departments to our night matches. No takers.

His neighbor and one of our club members is a State Trooper corporal. He regularly comes to our night matches. A couple of his troopers have come to our regular matches once. No return business.