Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Spate of Bad Cases

RickT

Loading 9mm with a 1050/Mark VII, mixed cases.  Haven't changed the setup in 100K rounds +-.  I do use some pickup brass although most of what I shoot is recycled from my practice sessions, maybe 20-30 times.  I'm getting bulged cases particularly PPU, S&B, and SVT with the occasional Win and Speer.  I did swap out the sizing die with no change in result.  Is there perhaps someone with an old Glock using this particular bay or has Glock bulge gone the way of the DoDo?

The rounds I shot today had all been checked and if in question I tested in a Barsto barrel identical to the installed barrel.  It's not an OAL issue and does appear to be a bulge at the case base.

I have been shooting 9 major for over 10 years, started when it was allowed by USPSA. 

So I learned the hard way that 9 major and random range pick up brass do not play well together. I will use mixed brass for practice but with about a 145-150 pf. 

For matches that require major I use known brass, Win, FC, RP, Blazer. Even this brass will bulge after a while. A roll sizer is the only way I have found to fix this.

I am very careful with my match brass, I will use once fired brass and only load it once before I use it for a big match. 

From now on I'm separating out any incidental pickups.  I'm shooting sub-minor so my fired brass actually fits in a case gauge.  The PPU brass, for example, won't event gauge if I just run the brass through the de-capping and sizing press stages.  After so many rounds made and a fair amount of range pick-up I've never had this happen.  Learn something new every day.

14 hours ago, RickT said:

I'm getting bulged cases particularly PPU, S&B, and SVT with the occasional Win and Speer. 

Since you've invested a lot in your press and drive I would recommend you get a roll sizer to "fix" the bulges. 

I exclusively use range pick up and since using the roll sizer have no issues.