Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

PCC only loads

I'm just getting into pcc and curious if anyone has  experimented with lighter weight bullets mainly 115's at around 1,200fps or 90's at around 1,500 fps and how they compare to say 125's or 147's which are the 2 standard bullets weight for minor out of a handgun.

I shoot uspsa and idpa so it needs to make a 135 power factor.

So far I've tried 147, 124 and 95 gr projectiles.   For accuracy, the 95 gr RN lead bullets are great to 100 yards (under 1-3/4").  For load data, try some VV N-320 at a little over 4.0 gr.  I get consistent 138 PF loads.

This season I hope to give Power Pistol a try.  Per the forum, data should be similar to N-320.

17 minutes ago, Flatland Shooter said:

So far I've tried 147, 124 and 95 gr projectiles.   For accuracy, the 95 gr RN lead bullets are great to 100 yards (under 1-3/4").  For load data, try some VV N-320 at a little over 4.0 gr.  I get consistent 138 PF loads.

This season I hope to give Power Pistol a try.  Per the forum, data should be similar to N-320.

I'm useing sport pistol now which is supposed to be similar to n-320. 

I assume the 95 gr rn your useing is a coated bullets, any problems with the coating at higher velocity?

I have some 90 and 95 gr hp and fmj on order?

I have done some similar testing. When I first got started in PCC my plan was to use my minor load which is a 147 plated Xtreme over 3.4 of N320 making about 134 PF.

I can't recall what that load was running out of my 16" Faxxon barrel, but  the recoil impulse was much more than I expected from a 9mm probably because of the reciprocating mass  and there was a lot of dot movement. After testing various weights I settled on a 115 plated with the same powder charge as for my 147 minor load. It makes about 1200 + change for around 140PF.   Felt recoil  and dot movement is much less and the dot settles quicker.