Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

First time going to nationals. Need advice from what you’ve learned the hard way!

This is my first time going to LIMITED nationals. Not so much the shooting part but dealing with everything else. I’ll be Shooting an incredibly reliable 2011.  

I got got the ammo shipment squared away but wanting to learn from others. 

I know the utah range is dusty dusty so I’m planning on keeping everything covered. Mags in ziplock bags, oil handy etc. 

what else?

Hit a dollar general, and grab a pack of the below. dirt cheap but work great over your gun or mags for that matter.
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32821868252.html?spm=2114.search0302.3.205.626160ab8X2o2b&ws_ab_test=searchweb0_0,searchweb201602_0_10130_453_454_10618_536_317_537_319_10059_10696_10084_10083_10547_10546_10887_10307_321_10548_322_10065_10068_10103_10884_10545,searchweb201603_0,ppcSwitch_0&algo_pvid=6db9f653-5d8c-465b-a1cc-92f8bbfbf303&algo_expid=6db9f653-5d8c-465b-a1cc-92f8bbfbf303-24
Personally I never reused mags that hit the dirt for a level II or up. had plenty to have enough loaded for the match. Especially if you consider your ULSC mag you can top off.  Makes for less stress  Check the stage round count. 
If not make sure you have a mag brush and can clean the ones that hit the dirt if you have to reuse them.
Far as parts, at minimum Id have a pre fit extractor, and slide stop and fiber optic rod plus a lighter and superglue if the front sight uses them.
If you like to party, party AFTER the match.  I jumped way up in the standings on day 2 and 3 as I think I was shooting against hungover and dehydrated people.
Also check the weather, you probably need to do some aclimatizing, get used to the heat and be well hydrated for match days.

Select your squad carefully - 

Extra parts for your gun, if not a spare gun

Too much ammo

Lots of food, beverage, etc

First aid kit

Two of everything

Get there as early as possible