Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How often do you train? Poll.

BamaShooter88

I’m bored and started wondering. I thought it would be cool to see where everyone stands. I’m new to competition shooting. I’m working on a training program. So I was wondering. What class did you start out in, what class are you in now, how long did it take you to get there, how often do you train and how do you train? 

• Replies 96
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Started C class in production, took about 6 months to make B class, where I'm currently at.  Sitting at 72% hopeful to make A class this year.  I dry fire 25 to 30 mins a day four to five days per week.  I try to live fire once a week, but many times it ends up being once every two weeks 400 - 500 rounds per session.  If you don't already have it, Ben's books are great, I also do a lot of dry fire work from Anderson's Refinement and Repetition.  Since your new, I'd check out Shoot Fast Podcast, Practical shooting after dark, That shooting show, and Make Ready Podcast.  Tons of good information between those podcasts for free.  

Not at all in the past four years. Have gone from midpack B to lower A at a glacial pace because of it.

Shooting matches on free weekends is a priority for me; training I simply do not have time for. I’m lucky to fire a gun 25times a year - but each time I make I make it to a monthly match, it makes me wish I had the time to make a push for an “M class within 12 months” kind of goal.

They only stretches I’ve dryfired consistently? Those were the time periods where I bumped into B class, and out of it into A class. Funny how that happens. ;) 

I’ve never been able to livefire train more than 2 times a month, ever.

I dry fire 2- 3  times a week for about 15 - 20 min a stretch.  Live fire training sessions, on average 2 - 3 every two weeks.  Monday evening indoor league (72 rounds) almost every week in the off season.  Try to get at least two level I matches a month.