Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Cleaner and Lubricant?

wally0206

Just wanted to see what is everyone's go to cleaner and lubricant for the tanfoglio, i am currently using RAND but don't really like it too much for it seems to have a lot of residue and build up after use. thought about going back to breakfree clp, but was curious what everyone likes.

Thanks!

I have been using Royal Purple for about 3 years exclusively on my guns, and it’s been pretty awesome. Doesn’t get gummy in cold temps and I’ve shot it in -6 temps previously up here in the PNW. Doesn’t get runny in hot temps. Makes cleaning the gun easier too. It dang near wipes off. Been very impressed with it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Rotella T6 (5w-40) and Corrosion-X

I have found that contrary to popular belief, grease does NOT stay where you put it when the firearm cycles, and really holds onto dirt.

Corrosion X goes on small springs and things to prevent corrosion, it creeps into small places well. T6 is my lubricant of choice because I use it in my cars.

If I need an extra drop or 2 on the rails or something, I keep a small bottle of the corrosion-X in my bag.

The T-6 is designed to suspend carbon....not sure what that means in a handgun, but that and/or the detergents sure make cleaning a breeze. 

In wear tests I have done the T6 was 2nd only to a rather thick industrial lubricant (Mobil SHC-634) but that stuff is too thick for guns IMO, and the T-6 was very close.

I've used Corrosion-X for decades, only adding the T6 after doing tests on a large number of gun lubes, CLPs, and greases. (AMsoil Motorcycle oil seems pretty good as well, came in 3rd.)

My tests were a plain ring (think hole saw with no teeth) onto a bar of steel, and a small weight (about #5) on the handle of the press.

Other tests show how much effort is needed to stop a spinning bearing....mine shows wear on the bearing with a constant pressure. Take it for what it's worth.