Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Popple holes, how much do they help?

user293

well in a few months im probably gonna be able to get my hands on a Dawson super-tuned Trubor set up for .38 super comp, and i was just thinking about it, and im pretty sure that the Trubors dont have Popple holes in the Bbl. so that got me thinkin, is there a big significance in gun that have the popple holes? i see alot of the high end Non-production line, fully custom gun running with these holes and was just wondering if the difference is very big, and would it be possible to have them machined into the gun? and would it be worth it to do this? im new to the open class, and fairly new to these guns, but ive done alot of reading on them so im not totally in the dark. any info would be good to satisfy my curiosity! thanks.

I have open guns with and without the holes. The holes help some but when I get my next open gun it'll be without those holes.

With those holes, I had to use more powder, put up with the lens getting smoked and sometimes I feel the extra gas being pushed back in my face (only during slow fire).

Try it without the holes and I'm sure someone you shoot with might have a similar setup with the holes and you can ask to try and shoot their gun.

Once you drill it, you can't go back.

If you want them put in, find a smith who will EDM them so that they don't affect accuracy. As others have said, the holes will lead to a barrel with a shorter life as they will eventually elongate, lessoning accuracy. It just depends on the comp combination and powder used as to rather or not they will make a difference, I have no experience with a Trubor.

As others have said, the holes will lead to a barrel with a shorter life as they will eventually elongate, lessoning accuracy.

I have cut ports in hundreds of barrels and have never seen this happen. I have seen accuracy degrade slightly at 75,000 plus rounds in 38 super but I don't think this is a function of the barrel ports.