Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Jet Travel

Jman

I'll admit it. I'm scared to fly jets. We have our annual conference tomorrow. It's a nothing flight, well under a hour to Orange Ca. from Phoenix. It's just that I HATE jets. Give me props any day. Feels like aviation with props. Feels like ballistics in a jet.

Hate 'em.

:unsure: ...mommy

Jim

I'm flying this weekend too. Going to Florida to see my folks. :)

Now I don't mind 1 plane flight, but you know it takes 2 flights to get to FLA and 2 flights to get back, so thats 4 hops total.

I often wonder what kind of mechanical problems EACH OF THE 4 JETS I will be on have had / will have, etc. etc. All it takes is for 1 of those planes, or the pilots flying them to have some form of "human error" and I'm a gone-er.

Who wants my guns ??? :huh:

Knuckles,

I do !!!!! The autos too. ;)

As a liscened aircraft mechanic I can tell you that there are way more dangerous(mechanical problems) cars and trucks, busses and big trucks in one state than in general aviation (aircraft have MANDANTORY inspections or they are grounded).

I feel safer in the air than on the road........just to bad we have the baggage troubles to deal with. <_<

Hopalong

What happens if the prop breaks off and flies through the cabin? Turbofan engines at least can usually contain the fins when they break.

I work for a helicopter parts company and the amount of documentation is ridiculous. Any part that we manufacture must have certifications back to the original company that made it, who also has certifications on what was used to make the product. Even a zip tie has certs identifying the lot is was made under and the batch of raw material. Airplane parts also go through far more inspections along the way than car parts.

I was a very frequent flyer on UNCLES not so comfy air lines :D

At least civies get real seats :lol:

Jim

:lol: True, but civies can't crawl up on the pallets and sleep! :ph34r: