Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What 40s&w Brass Won't You Reload

mcb

So I am just getting into some serious amounts of reloading. I had been using a friend's Square Deal and had loaded some 40S&W with it. For Christmas my Girl Friend with Two Rings got me a Dillon XL 650 with powder check station. (Yes she is a great wife!) and so I have been getting my own reloading setup going. In addition to the press I also picked up a Lyman brass tumbler and have been cleaning up brass from my big bag of range brass I have been collecting from various ranges I have been shooting at this summer. Needless to say I have many different head stamps and I'm trying to figure out which ones are the good one and which ones are not worth the effort.

At present I have been sorting them as follows. All the Remington (R . P) headstamp, Winchester, and Federal headstamp brass get sorted into a box and that is the brass I am presently using.

All the nickle plated brass (almost all Federal and Speer head stamps with a few Remington in there) get sorted into a second box. Figure those might be good for match ammo.

The rest gets sorted into the "I'll figure it out later" box. There's a lot of Win NT, Federal (F C), CCI, S&B, Zero, Speer, CBC, and a few others I don't remember.

First up what do you guys think of Speer? I have alot of both nickle and brass cases and it seems OK but I don't know much about it.

Second Win NT I have a lot of that too but I believe I have read bad things about that brass. Would you guys use it or toss it.

Finally the random other stuff, just pitch it, use it for practice, will it jam up my 650?

Thanks guys

mcb

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images