Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Anyone else do this? Lee Factory Crimp die.

I'm new to reloading.  I'm using a Hornady lock-n-load AP, with a U-die, Photo Escape PTX, Lee seating die, and Lee Factory Crimp die.

I use a Hundo case gauge, and so far I have about a 3% failure rate.  Out of curiosity I ran all the cases that failed the case gauge through the Factory Crimp Die again, and then all but one passed.

I set those rounds aside, and used them first, at my next trip to the range, and all cycled fine.

Anyone else do this, and is there any reason this would be a bad idea?  I can't see how it would be a problem, but maybe I'm missing something. 

5 minutes ago, ReconNav said:

Anyone else do this, and is there any reason this would be a bad idea?  I can't see how it would be a problem, but maybe I'm missing something. 

A lot of threads about the Lee FCD. Do a search. Personally I tried it early in my reloading and didn’t like it.  If you process is good it’s really not needed. But if it works for you go to it. 

6 minutes ago, HesedTech said:

A lot of threads about the Lee FCD. Do a search. Personally I tried it early in my reloading and didn’t like it.  If you process is good it’s really not needed. But if it works for you go to it. 

Maybe I wasn't clear, and yes I searched/read about the Lee FCD, before deciding to use it.  I'm asking if anyone else runs cartridges that fail the gauge, back through the FCD again?

First off what are you loading? Std sizes like .355, .400, .451 ect or are they .001 larger? Mixed brass? When you run them back through do they drag a little bit when they first enter the die? Are you applying enough crimp but not too much, as in just enough to press the case against the bullet. 

1 hour ago, ReconNav said:

I'm new to reloading.  I'm using a Hornady lock-n-load AP, with a U-die, Photo Escape PTX, Lee seating die, and Lee Factory Crimp die.