Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Question on Blue Bullets Diameter

looking4reloadingdeals

As Iv posted here before I'm new to coated bullets, but I know most people use "over sized" bullets of .357-.358". I recently tried some Brazos bullets in .357" and they worked ok for me but after talking to a lot of people at the range I'm thinking making a change to Blue Bullets. What I don't understand is why Blue Bullets are sized at .355"? Do people not have a problem with these smaller sized bullets for some reason? Or, do most people use the ".357/.38" bullets sized at .358"? Is there something I'm missing with these bullets? Any advise is appreciated

• Replies 88
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

ok ask a question that has an easy answer next time...

in 9mm the barrel should be aprox ( I love this...) .3543 - ish

from what I have read, that becomes .3550 inches.

and some manufacturers make them bigger...

lead bullets are softer than copper jacketed bullets

and so lead bullets should be bigger than the barrel bore

to seal and get traction on the rifling.

the thinking is that about 1 to 2 thou of diameter bigger is about right.

so if your bore is .355 you will want .356 for lead bullet size.

that would be considered normal for lead bullets.

try the .356 coated lead and see how it works for you.

victor

2 minutes ago, Miranda said:

ok ask a question that has an easy answer next time...

in 9mm the barrel should be aprox ( I love this...) .3543 - ish

from what I have read, that becomes .3550 inches.

and some manufacturers make them bigger...

lead bullets are softer than copper jacketed bullets

and so lead bullets should be bigger than the barrel bore

to seal and get traction on the rifling.

the thinking is that about 1 to 2 thou of diameter bigger is about right.

try the .356 coated lead and see how it works for you.

victor

what do you mean "a question that is easy to answer next time"?