Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

The New Science Of Archery

EricW

Man, archery just sucks anymore. Only been back shooting about two weeks and I'm already just pissed with it. Technology has just freaking ruined the sport to the point where there's no sport left. It's all about gear. And now, 17 years after I bought my present bow, it's so goddamned complicated it's almost impossible to know what to get. When I started, there were aluminum arrows. Easton made them and that was that. You read the chart, and bought your arrows. I could handle that before I got my high school diploma. Simple.

These days, I've got a degree in physics and electrical engineering and I'm still too stupid to order a dozen carbon arrows in the correct size. That'll take 3 or 4 long distance phone calls to get straight... Buying arrows is one thing the internet didn't make easier.

Every modern publication on archery and/or bowhunting blows chunks. Byron Fergusonis one of about five guys that's written an intelligent book on archery. Aside from that, reading any type of archery publication just about sends me into manic depression. Gear gear gear. It's all about the gear. Shooting? What the F is THAT? There's absolutely no discussion of it ANYWHERE.

Think you can escape the crap by resorting to traditional archery? Think again. What's on the cover of the trad. archery mags? "How to Crest Your Arrows in Genuine Snakeskin." And no, I'm not making that up. Who the **** cares?!! Isn't the objective to put arrows on target?!! I guess when you suck at shooting, you hole up in your cabin and make snakeskin arrows. Losers....

Enough of this BS. Come spring I'm ordering a Martin Vision and putting this bullshit techno-dweeb crapola as far behind me as I can get it. I'll be the pathetic loser with nothing bolted to his bow, nothing besides feathers glued onto his arrows, and who won't be invited to a bowhunting fashion show any time in the near future.

:ph34r:

• Replies 67
  • Created