Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

.45 acp loads with Clays

Brand0nitis

I'm new to reloading, and in preperation, I purchased 8lbs of Clays. After seeing it mentioned in forums all over, I figured I had better jump on it when I saw it!

I'm loading for a 6" bbl glock 21, I'm looking for advice on projectiles that cycle in my glock while using Clays.

I have win large primers, asst brass, and currently 200g coated swc, but read a little that swc's don't always run in a double stack setup. (?)

Looking for any help! Thanks a bunch!

Also, I am aiming to keep major pf.

European guns are not always real good with semiwadcutters. But since you have some, why not try them and SHOOT THE GUN!

I found that it takes a maximum listed load of Clays to make Major in .45 ACP. Sneak up on it.

It's the Lone Wolf barrel and slide in 6", it's got the slide cutout, just like the 34/35, but the width is the same as the g21 slide. I found the gun at a gun show and it came with both Lone wolf barrel and slide and OEM barrel and slide. Couldn't pass it up?

3.9 of Clays with a 230 grain round nose makes power factor with room to spare. It's well under book max for Lyman if I remember correctly, but getting close on Hodgdon. OAL is probably a factor there.

Edited by thermobollocks

European guns are not always real good with semiwadcutters. But since you have some, why not try them and SHOOT THE GUN!

I found that it takes a maximum listed load of Clays to make Major in .45 ACP. Sneak up on it.

Thanks for the advice, I figure I'll try them out for the Glock, and if they aren't great, I'll load them for 1911.

Every gun is different. It's my understanding that the change to a Canadian mfg. resulted in a slightly different recipe. Reports have been that the new Clays is a little slower then the old version. I found that 3.6gr. with a 225gr LTC is 170. But you have to work up the load for your gun and chrono.