Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What am I doing wrong?

BangSwitch

I'm fairly new to the shooting sports - I've shot exactly 2 USPSA matches so far and a handful of steel matches.

Under the stress of the timer, I've got to be doing something incredibly stupid to my 9mm 1911 - I've had a couple of double-feeds. I NEVER double-feeds when training or in class. Take me to a match and I have all the grace of a monkey f***king a football. Because it only happens during competition, I can't stop what I'm doing to diagnose the problem, I frantically try to fix the problem. Then I'm left picking up mags and live rounds trying to figure out what I did wrong.

I used to think that I was getting a bad grip on my 9mm 1911 and riding the slide. I tested that theory on the range one day and mashed the slide with my support thumb for all I was worth. cycles just fine, thank you. So that theory is thoroughly debunked.

I'm wondering if dumping my magazines in the dirt is killing me?

Can I induce a double-feed by not following through or jerking the pistol to the next target before the action cycles? ....or am I just an idiot.

I keep a log (yes, I'm compulsive that way) about the number of rounds fire, type of ammunition and malfunctions. In the about the last ~2,000 rounds all of my stoppages occurred during a match.

So what are some of the stupid things that noob shooters like myself do that screw themselves over?

It's always good to keep your magazines clean. But I would be shocked if dropping your magazines in the dirt is making your pistol double-feed. Ask an experienced shooter to watch and analyze you as you shoot a few stages, and they will likely be able to give you some input that will help.

Also, are the double-feeds occurring with ALL your magazines? That question should be answered before you pursue other solutions. The problem may be magazine-related.