Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

1/5 mag changes I flub

skargoh

15duec7.jpg

I am new at uspsa. But have shot a bunch and taken defensive classes, etc.

Now, I have started dry firing every day for a few weeks and practicimg mag changes etc. It seems I am getting less consistent.

Somehow I am "jamming" the follower into the well lips of the gun every 5 mag changes or so.

Enough to flub the mag change.

It is frustrating. I have tried to slow down, drawn a reference point inside the well, done it with eyes closed, and I seem to be getting worse in my mind. Or at least not getting more consistent.

Any tips? Is this normal, something that will eventually click?

Using dummy rounds also makes it easier because the feed lips won't catch on the edge of the magwell like in your pic. You can just put one dummy round in each magazine to get the right effect, but loading them full up also helps you get the right weight in the mag also.

For me, the key is to get the mag to the magwell as fast as possible. Sort of like lining them up, then pausing, then seating the mag. However, its all in one motion though. Just as important is seeing the mag into the magwell. Every time I flub a reload, I can usually recognize I was not focused on the magwell.

For me, the key is to get the mag to the magwell as fast as possible. Sort of like lining them up, then pausing, then seating the mag. However, its all in one motion though. Just as important is seeing the mag into the magwell. Every time I flub a reload, I can usually recognize I was not focused on the magwell.

This. Practice getting the mag to the magwell, and not into the gun. Putting it in after it gets to the magwell is the easy part.