Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Help training wife

Chase1

Hello everybody. New here :)

Question about training wife. She's really been excited about shooting which is cool and not a bad shot for a new shooter. The problem appears to be that I'm a horrible teacher.

Here's her current issue. Her groupings aren't bad, Need improvement but not bad. Problem is they're so random. 4 shots high/right. 4 low/left etc. there never seems to be a consistent patern which makes it hard to figure out

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated

If she is still relatively new to shooting there may be some flinching (load noise, recoil impulse etc.). Sometimes just a long session 100-200 rounds will help reduce that as she gets used to the noise/impulse.

You don't mention what type of gun, assuming a first double-action, second single action try this test:

Set up two IPSC targets about 15 yards away. Have her draw to the first target, fire one shot then swing to the second target and then fire one shot. Re-holster, repeat 5-10 times.

If shooting DA then SA you may see a bunch of shots on the left target that are off to the left while the shots on the right are more central, this could indicate if the first double action the trigger pull is too long, might need a smaller grip. It will also show if she is shifting grip between shots.

Also a dry fire regimen is a must. This will help with sight alignment and trigger control. Traditionally the low left is caused by anticipation of recoil and squeezing the trigger with the whole hand. Another thing to make sure of is that she is not "Playing her slice" what I mean by that is she is not holding high right in anticipation of pulling the shot low left so compensating for where she thinks the bullet will go.

LOL ya I know the teaching wife thing. Thats not so much the problem as it is me analyzing the problem i.e tight groups, just never in the center.