Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New Gun Conundrum

Cavediver29

So here's the deal, I've been shooting IDPA ESP and USPSA steel challenge for a little over 2 years. Recently I began shooting in some local production decisions even though due to stippling my M&P should fall into limited. Its a local match so its not a big deal either way. The problem with this is that it has instilled a massive desire to get into shooting open.

Here is the conundrum, I'm torn between 4 different approaches at reaching my open gun dreams.

1) 2011 Platform of some fashion yet to be determined (probably sti).

2) CZ Build.

3) M&P 9pro build from new gun

4) M&P 9pro build using bare slide and my ESP lower. Local shop has a slide in stock so acquisition will not be a problem.

My main concerns are related to long term enjoyment and challenge. Regardless of the approach I choose I intend on doing all of the work myself. The main reason I want to get into open is to build my own gun. I have lots of machining and engineering experience and have no doubts that in the long run I will be able to build a quality gun. I am aware that this approach will likely lead to increased cost and lots of headaches however it is the approach that I would like to take. However, once I have finished construction I do not want to be out performed simply due to limitations of the chosen platform.

My question is will the M&P platform leave me hanging at local matches or is it capable of being competitive? Part of the reason I'm leaning this route is because there are very few open m&p's whereas everyone has an open 2011/1911 or CZ.

Secound, if I choose the M&P should I with from a new stock gun or just a bare slide. As I said either are readily available. The new gun obviously provides a clean slate, however the slide up approach saves a few hundred bucks but will limit the design of the final open gun since the lower will still need to be ESP compliant.