Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Have you ever seen a shooter shoot from the weak hand freestyle?

ProGunGuy

So I was at a match recently and saw something i have never seen before. A shooter in my squad, that was right handed, shot left side shots freestyle with his left hand as dominate and right hand as support.

He actually scored quite well doing it. would this make sense from a speed and scoring stand point to do it this way?

I was taught to shoot this way around barricades from my father as a kid as a way to present less of a profile as you shot around them. He even taught me to use my left eye when doing this also. I can fire a long gun this way also, but my manual of arms gets all messed up at that point.

I think I am on the same page as Jimmy. My background is primarily defense and I am just getting started with competition. I believe I present much less profile switching sides but two problems occur. First is that I have to transfer the firearm which takes time and opens one more possible opportunity to loose control of the firearm. Second and most important is that my manual of arms on my weak side is very less effective than my strong side. I do however feel it is a great skill to work on and believe that shooting this way in a fun match would be good experience. I just dont know if I will ever invest the time in training to be competition ready.

I was taught to shoot this way around barricades from my father as a kid as a way to present less of a profile as you shot around them. He even taught me to use my left eye when doing this also. I can fire a long gun this way also, but my manual of arms gets all messed up at that point.

I took a bunch of law enforcement firearms classes back in the 90's and that is how they taught barricade shooting. Right side is right hand and right eye, left side is left hand and left eye regardless of any dominance. Don't think I would do it in any competition though.