Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Hammer Down

echase1

I am new to the CZ clan and shoot IDPA and USPSA. I will soon be getting my first CZ Shadow from Matt Mink. I have a quick question...When you go up to the line to shoot the gun with the letting the hammer down on a chambered round, do you let the SO know? How do you guys handle this? I know this CZ will most likely be the first time many of the SOs at my local IDPA club experience this.

Thanks for your input and advice...

I've been shooting my Shadow Custom for about 6 months now. Where I shoot, many are familiar with having to manually lower the hammer on a CZ. Just be safe about it and let your RO know what you are doing. Good luck.

Lowering the hammer isn't "out of the ordinary." It is what is required by the USPSA (and I assume IDPA) rulebook. If they've never seen a DA/SA gun without a decocker, hopefully they will figure out what you are doing and why.

If you think they won't have seen it before, I'd mention it beforehand. I RO'd at nationals this year and must have seen 50-100 people decock manually. None of them said anything. I think it's pretty routine unless there just aren't any cz's around you. I've had one or two RO's notice it, but no one flipped out.

If you think they won't have seen it before, I'd mention it beforehand. I RO'd at nationals this year and must have seen 50-100 people decock manually. None of them said anything. I think it's pretty routine unless there just aren't any cz's around you. I've had one or two RO's notice it, but no one flipped out.

I shot an SP-01 for the year (2006) and went to a bunch of club matches and 2 area matches. I never said anything to the RO and they never said anything other that Make Ready and Are You Ready?