Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

The road to an open gun

ctay

I have been aching for an open gun for a few months now – I finally picked one out this Friday and thought I would do a little write up on how and why I arrived at my decision. I hope this can be a useful little write up for the next guy who starts down this path…

My process in selecting an open gun

I only started shooting USPSA in July of 2011. I started with a box stock XDm 4.5 along with the holster and mag pouches that came with the gun (thank you Springfield!). Right away I was hooked. I loved the more competitive atmosphere that USPSA shooting had over my previous experiences shooting “action pistol”. Everyone I met was great and they were all willing to help me learn the sport.

You can’t go to a USPSA event and not notice the open guns. These things look like something out of Robocop with the Red Dot sights and big compensators. They are the hot rods of the shooting world - and who doesn’t want to drive a hot rod?? I had to have one so I started the lobbying process required to get the wife on board. Once she said yes I only had to find the right gun. That should be the easy part right? Well…

Picking the right gun

Right away it is important to realize that any open gun is going to be both expensive and totally impractical for anything other than shooting games. This is not something that you are going to use to defend your home (at least not as a planned use) and don’t even think about concealed carry. This is a game gun and a game gun only. Additionally, an open gun is going to cost you regardless of what you buy. These are complex machines that require a significant investment to build right. That means expensive.