Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

STI Modifications for IPSC.

Carmine

Hi Everyone.

I've been using my STI's for several years now for both IPSC and Action Pistol Matches.

My question for you is the following.

Why do we spend over 2K for a gun(with only 1 mag)and then proceed to get it "match ready"?

I'll post pics of my gun a.s.a.p....but my gun has just 4 original parts.

The gun runs like a dream....after several months and another 1.5K fixing the gun and tuning the mags.

So what have you done to fix your gun?

By the way, up here in Canada..doing anything "Gun Related" can get expensive.

Ciao.

I DO NOT KNOW just kidding. I strongly believe in one of two things

1st if you pay anything over 1200-1500 you should not need to spend thousands on top of it to make it work well.

2nd if you truly want a custom gun to your specifications have one built by a reputable smith.

I got a 1911 built By Guncrafter industries the only thing I have changed in 3 years are the sights (twice LOL). A friend had Benny Hill build an STI a few years ago and for a little bit more then you paid for a stock STI and that thing is unbelievable. His primary gun and used heavy no problem no modifications.

And at the same time another buddy has spent 2200 on a XD .45 grate gun but now it is a $2800 XD.

I think the main reason for spending money on the gun that works is somehow we think if I just do this or that I could be better shooter.

:surprise:

Chasing after "the next big thing" in IPSC can be fruitless.

My initial question still remains.

Is a stock STI given it's 2K pricetag ready to go "out of the box"....in almost every case I've seen the answer is no.

It's been my personal experiance over the years and 2 STI's that they have all needed work.

Every gun required magazines fitted and adjusted, the triger on one of my guns was so heavy that I thought something was broken.

One of my guns came with the elevation tension spring missing from the rear adjustable sight.