Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Canted optics mount on an open gun

Desk_jockey

Some guys in my USPSA club shoot open guns that have a canted sight mount. Sort of like a standard mount turned backwards and bent upwards 45 degrees i.e the sight sits to the left of the top of the slide on a 45 degree angle. Glass is still over the bore axis but it seems to give more clearance for the ejection port and racking the slide.

I have forgotten to ask who makes it at teh last 3 matches and can't find it on the internet.

(I am a production newbie drooling over open guns so sorry if this is old news)

How do you adjust the C-More when its on the mount???

jj

Usually while cussing. :rolleyes:

Derek at MC does flip the adjustment screws on C-mores. The other issue is your X-Y axis is rotated about 30 degrees so it will take a couple more tries to get it zeroed.

I put one on my Open gun recently and it wasn't hard to sight in at all, really no worse than a standard C-more. I didn't reverse the controls, I just took an allen wrench and cut it down, then put a hollow ground screwdriver tip on it and it works nicely. Popping the top end off to make an adjustment isn't a big deal, just put the paperclip in the guiderod, pull the slide stop and 5 seconds later the top end is laying on the bench, just a couple seconds and it is back on the gun and ready to shoot. So far I like the mount a lot, well once I shot a couple matches with it and stopped whacking the end of my thumb on the end of the scope during the draw I like it LOL. I can run just horrendously beat up brass with zero issues, something that just isn't possible with a typical scope mount.

I love mine (I have two). I'm a lefty so my slide rackers stick out the right side of the gun anyway. I flopped the left/right adjustment screw myself without too much hassle. It really isn't all that hard. Mine both came directly from Barry because I wanted unanodized silver ones.

• 4 weeks later...