Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Using new brass?

rledwards

Forgive me if this has been asked before, but I can't find anything related using the search function.

A friend from work is getting into pistol shooting and I have introduced him to reloading.

He came over to try loading some ammo on my equipment and brought some new Winchester .45 brass. After loading just a couple dozen rounds, the Dillon SDB locked up at the end of the down stroke of the handle. It turned out that a case was stuck on the expander "button". After getting the offending case out, I found the expander button to be very fouled with brass that took a considerable amount of elbow grease to remove. Is this common with new brass?

I have been reloading for over 45 years and got my first Dillon 550 over 20 years ago and have reloaded 10's of thousands of rounds over the years, but I guess I have never actually used new pistol brass in all that time. I switched to the 550 and quickly fouled the expander on that one also. I tried some of the finely powdered mica that I have previously used when neck expanding some new rifle brass, but it didn't help much.

Any suggestions from anyone with experience loading new pistol brass would be much appreciated. He needs to load some more ammo, but I would like to have a solution before he comes over.

TIA,

--Lin

are you using any hornady oneshot lube? its amazing how a quick spray of oneshot makes cycling the press so much easier.

i use hornady oneshot or dillon case lube. dillon for my 9mm range pick ups and oneshot for the 40 s&w and ocasional 45 acp.

<_< I don't much care for loading with new brass. But it does help to take the expander and chuck in the drill pres and polish the heck out of it. a 1/2" drill would work.

or you could go the longer rout and use a chamfer tool on the inside. the one shot is a good trick too combined with the polished neck on the expander