Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Keeping a Glock reliable?

Turbo23

Hey guys and gals,

One of the FNG's to this sport again calling on your wise minds for some advise. LOL :)

I have a glock 35 and have changed the recoil spring to a springco with a 14# spring. Shooting factory winclean 180gr

One day I will have no problems at all, then an other day I will have several. (like this weekend)

I also am having trouble keeping my mags from slide-locking my gun??

A guy at this last match told me that it might be the bullet it self touching the slide lock and doing this??

How do you (tune) your mags so that I can start to focus on shooting and not fixing??

Help please :)

Todd

I hate to do this but I'm going to repeat something I have little personal knowledge of & that is the springco & glocks don't go together well. I've heard that first hand but that is as close as I've been to the situation. Try replacing temporarily your springco with either your stock rod or an aftermarket one & see if your problems don't go away. I have a tungsten in one, a steel in another & stock in the rest & have little trouble. The tungsten rod gun has a 15# spring or it was 15 when new & now is getting way soft. The steel has a 15 that is still pretty good, & the stock ones are just that. The recoil pulse is different but none of the guns seems to be suffering from frame battering. The primary gun--a 35-- has had @35k rds through it since I bought it used.

This is just a suggestion but it is easy to try. I've never had to tune a mag to make it feed in my glocks. I've polished them to make them fall easier but never had one that allowed the bullets to hit the slide lock. I'm pretty confident your problem is the springco.

Good luck, MLM