Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Open Gun Issue: Newbie Here

dfwmiket

Here's the deal. I bought my wife an Open gun for Christmas, and it had been running great... even made it thru Doubletap with no issues. The last three matches in a row, the gun seems to stovepipe (either sideways or lengthwise) and still attempt to feed. I am by no means a gunsmith, nor do I play one on TV. I've asked a couple of my buddies already and they have some ideas, but since this gun isn't exactly like theirs, I'd like to get some other opinions.

Aftec extractor. 8 lb. recoil rod (which I just swapped out to see if it fixed issue, no diff.)

9x23. Long gun. Ammo makes 173 (rechrono'd yesterday) and no pressure signs that I can tell. Some ideas I have or have been given: mags out of spec- (not sure how that affects the stovepipe, but possible). Extractor either too tight or too loose? I wouldn't know the difference, so I defer to the gurus here. It's annoying that a gun that runs perfectly is now having issues and I can't figure out "why". Any and all help is appreciated, and same to my buddies who I've already aggravated by asking a thousand questions of 'what if'.

I'm prob gonna end up taking to a gunsmith as last resort, but with Arkansas sectional coming up, kinda want her gun to RUN again!!

-Mike

Mike, stupid question, but is the gun clean? Have you cleaned out the extractor tube? If it was running fine, and all of a sudden quit running, could be something that simple.

Have you changed anything?

Funny enough, I did clean it, too......thinking maybe it was getting dirty. It didn't seem to make any difference at all.

As you can recall, it has been running flawlessly and now all of a sudden it's flaky, which equals no fun for her.

Damn race gun! LOL