Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

The Blue Bullet .38/.357 160g Round Nose

hueycrew

I'm looking for feedback on the Blue Bullet 160G round nose.

Will be shot from a SW627, TK 38 Short Colt Brass, TK Moon Clips. (yeah - I drank the kool-aid)

How well do they feed/load into the cylinder?  Does the shape of the bullet (Ogive) cause any issues?

I've used SNS Casting for years.  Saw the Blue Bullet on another post.

Give Damn Good Bullets a look, much better profile, not as "pointy" and smoother, rounder shoulder.

The upshot is they are considerably cheaper too. The 750 pack is 15 bucks cheaper than blue bullets. I've been using DG bullets for several years now, very satisfied with them. 

I've used them 1.180" oal in a m28 and 2 627's.  Good prices and good shipping.

Fwiw I like black bullet internationals better, a little cheaper and in my guns a bit more accurate.  Think due to sizing.  But it could be me or my guns.

You won't be disappointed.

i got a few different heavy round nose projectiles to test out for my 929 and of the coated 160-165gr i picked the blue bullets because of the pointy nose. i wanted the pointiest shape to minimize side bounce on a poor moon toss at the cylinder.  i don't know how much it matters anyway since i may screw up the rest of the reload, but i'm liking them so far. 

• 2 weeks later...
On 12/19/2023 at 12:46 PM, hueycrew said:

I'm looking for feedback on the Blue Bullet 160G round nose.

Will be shot from a SW627, TK 38 Short Colt Brass, TK Moon Clips. (yeah - I drank the kool-aid)

How well do they feed/load into the cylinder?  Does the shape of the bullet (Ogive) cause any issues?

I've used SNS Casting for years.  Saw the Blue Bullet on another post.

What will your AOL be with 160s and the Short Colts?  Sounds like something I'd like to try.

2 hours ago, hueycrew said:

With SNS 160g coated and 3.5g WST. OAL 1.200