Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

question about last round bolt hold open

I built a 9mm PCC using a FM-9 lower and the build has been 100% EXCEPT......

When I use factory Glock 33 rnd mags the bolt will not lock back, HOWEVER, when I use ETS mags, the bolt locks back every time as I want it to....

I'm new to this PCC stuff and I'm confused as to why the FACTORY Glock mags WON'T lock back and the ETS mags do......

I know there's discussion about locking back, not locking back, but at this stage I want it to.  I'm really confused as to why the factory mags won't do it but the aftermarket ones will.....

maybe switch out the spring/followers between your glock and ets mags and see what happens.  that might tell you whether it's the mag bodies/lips or springs/followers that are different.

but in the pcc game, if you are going to slidelock, you've already lost.

Take the upper off. put a mag that works in the lower then  one that does not. Look

thear is a" rod" that interacts with the mag fowler adjust it  to work (bend) 

Edited by AHI

It sounds to me like your pcc  is tuned(ammo PF, buffer weight, buffer spring strength) just right on the edge of the bolt going far enough back to catch the lock. As was said, there's probably a minor difference in the follower design that's making the difference. Trading them out should confirm that. I would try upping your powder charge just a little as the easiest thing to do before messing with buffers and springs.

I like the LRBHO also, although mine doesn't always do it. But I'm ok with it as it is. The reason why is if you never run dry you won't waste valuable time with a reload. If you're trying to shoot a 32 rd stage with a 33 rd mag you're either damn good or fooling yourself. Get some mag extensions, I like Taylor freelance, and/or some 40 rd ets mags. Just load them to 38 and you're covered if you need a makeup shot or there's hard to hit steel. I have two ets 40 rd mags and they work great for me.