Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Beginner Reloading Equipment

Hi,

I am new to reloading and I wanted to ask for suggestions. I am currently looking at a Lee Classic Turret Press. They sell it by the kit, but I am not sure if the accessories that come with it are of good quality. Wanted to ask for suggestions on the following:

reloading scale

powder measure

hand primer

Caliper

I will primarily be loading 9mm and 38 special ammo.

Thank you!

Really depends on the quantity you plan on reloading.

A Turret press is okay if you reload for a revolver, in small quantities, 

BUT,

if you're reloading for a 9mm and using it for competitive sports, I'd

recommend a Dillon Square Deal (SDB),

The press, dies and everything you need to reload 9mm and .38 special

will run about $700 or so - worth every penny of it, too.     :)  

3 hours ago, JohnS23 said:

Hi,

I am new to reloading and I wanted to ask for suggestions. I am currently looking at a Lee Classic Turret Press. They sell it by the kit, but I am not sure if the accessories that come with it are of good quality. Wanted to ask for suggestions on the following:

reloading scale

powder measure

hand primer

Caliper

I will primarily be loading 9mm and 38 special ammo.

Thank you!

Buy the Lee classic turret press kit.  That was my first press, and I just finished loading a few hundred precision 223 loads on it tonight. Been using it for many years and still love it. I can load precision 6.5 creedmoor loads that shoot 3 inch groups at 1000 yards. Or you can pistol ammo Pretty fast. 250rds per hour is a normal pace. Or for making cheap plinking ammo. It does it all.

A turret is a great press to learn reloading on. You’re going to make mistakes, I did, pretty sure everyone did. But it’s better to mess up just one round then have a progressive going and screw up a whole bunch of rounds. It’s also easier with the turret since your only focusing on one function, vs a progressive with 5 going at once.