Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Blew up a primer tube on my new 1050.....still having primer issues

I’ve been loading on a 550b for the past 7 years and decided to upgrade to a 1050 since I recently started shooting USPSA.  The 550 has been great, and I experienced zero problems after >25k rounds of .45 and 9mm.  I recently bought a 1050, RF100, and mr bullet feeder to load up .40 for limited.  The press and rf100 have been great, but I’m definitely not over the initial growing pains of getting them set up.  Main problem seems to be primers.....both the primer filler (running about 2/100 upside down), and multiple problems with the press(crushed/sideways primers) .....including one that lit the tube off!  Dillon sent replacement parts free of charge btw....great company!

The problems seem to be inconsistent, but repeatable, and I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong.  Mainly the primers are getting jammed in the primer slide sideways.  I’ve been using Win sport and Win once fired brass.  Any advice here?

Thanks

(I have some pics but it says file size is too big to post them)

The upside down primers are coming from the RF100. Make sure the stabilizer plate is properly adjusted. It is located at the very front of the bowl (clear plastic cover off) and it's job is to allow the primers to come to the drop, one-by-one. Also, if you are using Winchester primers you may be moving them around at too high of a speed. Slow things down with the rheostat and see what happens. Winchester primers tend to bounce a little if they come into the drop-off area too fast.

I had the same problems with my 1050 regarding primers, although I never set off a tube. I had it apart so many times I felt like a tire changer at the Daytona 500.