Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Post your case lube recipes

GrumpyOne

Title says it all. If you use a commercial case lube (or other store bought lubricant), please post that as well. 

I use a mix of Lanolin and alcohol in a quart sized spray bottle  (I forget the exact mix ratio). Never had any issues with dead primers or squibs. Spray a couple spritzes in gallon sized ziploc baggy, dump brass in, zip shut and shake. Load almost immediately. 

Before that, I was using a silicone based spray bought from HD or Lowe's. While it worked well, with no squibs, the lanolin seems to be slicker. I believe I was using the Liquid Wrench brand of silicone spray.

7 minutes ago, oteroman said:

Where do you find 99% isopropyl locally?? I see 91% all over I assume 91% would work but take much longer to dry.

You can try your local pharmacy, although I doubt they will have it.  I had to get mine from Amazon.  And I'm a pharmacist who works at a retail pharmacy.  We had none and I couldn't find any cost effective way to order any.  I paid a little over $10 with free shipping for 2-16 oz bottles on Amazon.

13 minutes ago, oteroman said:

Grumpyone curious about the silicone spray you you were using. Why did you switch if it was working well?

The silicone spray seemed to dry more over time. If you sprayed the brass and did not load within a couple of hours, you had to spray again to make it go through the press as easy as if you just sprayed it. With the lanolin, I can spray it and not have to worry about how long it sits.

2 minutes ago, Erick85 said:

You can try your local pharmacy, although I doubt they will have it.  I had to get mine from Amazon.  And I'm a pharmacist who works at a retail pharmacy.  We had none and I couldn't find any cost effective way to order any.  I paid a little over $10 with free shipping for 2-16 oz bottles on Amazon.