Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What to do with extra 550 hole?

I am planning on buying a 550 after Christmas. I plan on loading mainly my high volum ammo(9mm.45ACP and 38) and continue to load my rifle stuff on my Rockchucker...for now(I suspect a complete changeover will come).

I will be using my RCBS 3 die set on the 550B.

Question #1, What do most people do with the empty station?

Thanks

AR15-SBR

Use a 4 die set up, I guess u could try a powder check, but most seat and crimp in separate stations

Agreed. But if 3 dies work OK I guess you could use a powder check or maybe put an FCD in there

Cnote...seat and crimp in seperate stations...but why. I don't want to come off as a jerk, so please hear me out. I have been shooting and reloading for over 30 years and during that time my RCBS Rockchucker and RCBS dies have made MANY thousands of accurate pistol rounds. This is why I ask about seating and crimping in seperat stations.

I am in a position that affords me the opprotunity to shoot more and to be honest I don't feel like pulling the handle three times for every one round of ammo, this is the reason for the change to a progressive press. I just don't want to start all over on my equiptment.

Thanks for letting me vent, if you will

AR15-SBR

1. Size/deprime, prime

2. Powder charge

3. Seat the bullet

4. Crimp

Is how they are intended to be used. If you want to seat and crimp on 3, go for it, you don't have to have a die in #4. If you leave 3 empty and seat and crimp in 4 you will have to operate the machine, insert cases and feed bullets all with your right hand and do nothing with your left...

Back in the good old days

1) Resize

2) Prime (Priming Arm on Press) (No Hand Priming Tool)

3) Bell Case for Pistol (Lyman M Die) for lead bullets (Swaged Lead or Hard Cast)

4) Powder

5) Seat & Crimp (Poor results for swaged bullets)

If you had a RCBS or Lyman turret press that held 6-7 dies that you turned by hand (YOU HAD A SUPER LOADER)