Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Depriming .223 brass

TDA1

Short answer is yes.

There really isn't a right answer, and if you ask enough people I bet they are semi close to evenly divided.

Personally, I tumble then size/deprime. But - I'm loading for 3Gun, so super wham-o-dyne accuracy isn't the #1 priority.

If I was shooting varmints or other longer range precision, my answer might be different.

• 2 weeks later...

I have a question along these lines also. I sonic clean and I'm just getting into rifle loading myself. Pistol is deprime first then sonic clean. And then run the process thru my progressive.

I'm wondering how I should process my 223 brass.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

This is one of those questions like what brand of beer, truck,car,Nascar Driver etc do you like! It will depend on how you like to do things and in which order. I use a Harvey deprimer that I modified for stuck primers.

http://www.harveydeprimer.com/

IMG_2024.jpg

IMG_1160.jpg

For the sticking/tight primers I use a small punch and light hammer

IMG_2023.jpg

IMG_2020.jpg

I do it watching the tube as it becomes almost a no brainer have did about 20,000plus 5.56/.223, 9mm

I do it before the first run thru the Lizard litter, Nu finish used dryer sheet. Keeps all the left over curd in the caps out of the litter. I don't find that the wet tumble and SS pins adds anything to the casings. besides I have did enough wet SSpins in jewelry making and stone work. There are thoses that will not do it any other way. I also have a sonic cleaner and just don'y think the extra steps and time gives me any benifit. Of course I'm only punching holes in paper @ an indoor range

You can try a couple of batches both ways and see which you preffer. Doing it before sonic will keep the ynuit cleaner.

If you want primer pockets clean, then deprime before tumbling. If it doesn't matter, then tumble first. Keep in mind that it takes longer to dry if you wet tumble before depriming.