Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Akai custom "stroked" slide?

Akkid17

Saw this on their website and I am trying to figure out the purpose of it. I see that it's to lengthen the slide action of the gun but I don't get out that's supposed to benefit the shooter. Anyone out there in the know on this? I'm curious in regards to a 9mm (mainly minor/rarely major ammo) open gun of that make a difference.

Thanks,

Ben

Edited by Akkid17

It increases the distance the slide travels therefore spreading the recoil out over a longer distance. It is supposed to reduce the felt recoil. I have no personal experience with it but that is what I was told by Shay when I asked about it.

Is it an advantage to a 9 minor open gun or mainly just for major PF guns open or otherwise? Saw a post about it for limited guns but not much for open guns. The reason I ask is that I'm wanting to get a gun built in the near future and since I mainly shoot 3-gun and steel it will rarely see major PF ammunition.

Thanks,

Ben

As I understand it, it's kinda like tuning AR gas. A significant portion of the recoil you feel is the slide bottoming out at the end of its travel, just like the buffer bottoming out in an AR buffer tube. The longer stroke allows time for the magazine to advance a cartridge up while your spring selection lets you prevent the slide from banging hard at the end of its travel. Ideally, the slide reverses direction just shy of bottoming out. To accomplish that with standard slide stroke, you would have to use a very stiff recoil spring. This increases slide velocity to the point that the magazine can't feed fast enough, and also prevents the slide stop from functioning. In an AR, you can just turn down the gas supply until your buffer quits bottoming out. However, it overshoots the bolt stop by 3/8 inch so it still has time to engage the bolt even if it doesn't go all he way back, and turning gas down SLOWS the cycling, preventing feed issues.