Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

I'm very unhappy...(update: Now I'm Happy)

JFD

When you folks say a person needs help to run a match, you are not kidding. I believe I just burned out about an hour ago. I'm miserable so obviously I need to vent and spread my misery around. Take that as a warning as to what follows.

I had been shooting USPSA for about a year when our MD decided it was time to quit. I had been helping him for a couple of months, but otherwise he had been running 2 matches a month for several years with almost no help.

Of the club members, I was the only one who would take the job. I knew nothing, still know almost nothing, but was unable to stand the thought of a USPSA match (my new love) at a club I was a member of (8 minutes from my house) die out.

Here I am nearly 2 years later and have yet to have any help setting up a 5 - 6 stage match. Only recently have I had any help tearing down the match. Generally speaking I do everything.

My attendance is basically unchanged, with just enough shooters (8 - 15) to pay for itself and occasionally splurge on a simple prop.

My shooters tell me the matches are great and my stages are really good. Most of the time they're telling the truth.

I've yet to return any money back to the club (profit) and my operating cash is half of what it once was. I get to attend BOD meetings and listen to how well everyone else is doing. My fellow BOD members treat me well and don't care if my match makes money or not. I could likely get away with being a drain on the club's finances if things get worse.

The club has 1000 members and no more than 5 of them shoot my match. The switch to 3-gun format seems likely to change that for the better, although how much better is unknown.