Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Big matches for newbs?

two shoes

Background:

So I am a relative newb at all of this fun. I registered for this site back in '09, shot my first match one year ago ('10) and have now shot in 5 matches so far.

The question:

Do many "D" class shooters show up to compete? I am talking majors/ sectionals and the like. Looks like a very different level of stage design from the local matches and a lot of fun...

Background:

So I am a relative newb at all of this fun. I registered for this site back in '09, shot my first match one year ago ('10) and have now shot in 5 matches so far.

The question:

Do many "D" class shooters show up to compete? I am talking majors/ sectionals and the like. Looks like a very different level of stage design from the local matches and a lot of fun...

Shooting a major will help a lot depending on how you approach it. I really wish I had shot some majors much earlier in my shooting. It will help you mature as a shooter in several areas. I'd suggest the RO class as a good step before going to a major.

Thanks guys for the replies. An RO class is in my near future. I had some questions answered at my last match and that suggestion was made, even if I do not RO, it would be a great learning experience. I'll be looking for one here in Colorado soon.

Do it. My 3rd match was the Monster Match and was my 1st major after competing in USPSA for a month. My 10th match was the Factory Gun Classic as my 2nd major. Majors aren't really all that different from a local match, except they are run a bit more strictly when it comes to time management. You will still be in your own little squad rotating through the stages like any other match. There's just a lot more other squads and probably more stages than you see at the local match.

Edited by ErichF

shot my first match one year ago and have now shot 5 matches

Do many "D" class shooters show up Looks like a very different level of stage design from the local matches