Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

best powders for accuracy 9mm Luger

p5200

I've got my dies coming this week and need to pick up some powder and primers. All suggestions on powders and primers will be greatly appreciated I am new to reloading pistols but, I do have three loading manuals I use for rile loads. Will be shooting for groups mostly and have 115 gr. bullets coming also. I have picked up a bottle of Accurate NO.7 today and CCI 500 small pistol primers. I was told on another forum Winchester 231 was a good choice but, all opinions are welcome. Thanks! :cheers:

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Major or minor? What type of gun? Thanks

Well, I might as well confess being new to pistol shooting I'm not sure what minor/major means. :blush: The pistol is a M&P 40 with a KKM 40-9mm conversion barrel which is what I plan to load for. Thanks! :cheers:

I use Winchester 231/Hodgdon HP38 for all of my 9MM and 40S&W pistols (G17/G34 and G23/G35). I use Montana Gold 124 JHP for 9MM, and Montana Gold 180 JHP for 40S&W. I use Winchester Small Pistol Primers (WSP). I use range brass for both 9MM and 40S&W.

I have used this site (http://data.hodgdon.com/main_menu.asp) to look up sample loads and OAL. I usually use Lymans manual first.

Hope this info is useful to you.

I plan to pick up another bottle of powder tomorrow from a different shop who has more of a selection. I'll keep track of the suggested powders from you experienced pistol loaders and pick one of those. All I have loaded so far has been for my rifles and I don't have much experience shooting pistols yet either. Thanks very much folks keep em coming! :cheers:

In my experience:

Silouette, Power Pistol and WSF work the best for accuracy loads in 9mm.

I would try N320 and N330 as well, depending on the bullet you select, particularly for USPSA or IDPA.