Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Keeping a Back Up Gun for Major Matches

prreed10

How many here keep and bring a back up gun to major/local matches? I was looking in the safe and see a lot of redundancy - 2 Glock 34's, 2 9mm 1911's, 2 40 S&w Glocks (22 & 35) and all are set up similar. I've been lugging around 2 to major and local matches for the past 3 years and have yet to go to the backup one. It started after I had a squib on the last stage of a Regional match that I could not dislodge. Luckily, it was on the last stage with only 2 targets left, so I did get to "finish" the match. It got me thinking though, what if that happened on the 1st stage of a big match. I know as soon as I dump one, I know I'll need it. I am also looking for a way to finance a 2011 build, and no way I am going to get 2.

murphy at its best. you had a problem and got a backup. since you've carried the backups, you havent needed them. the first day you leave it at home is the day you'll need to go to it to finish the match, haha.

I do not have a backup yet but will hopefully be ordering a new Single Stack gun soon then my current will become my backup and then yes, ill always have it.

I too cannot afford a second 2011 and it's even more pricey in Open. I carry plenty of parts that might need to be replaced - Firing pin stop, slide release, thumb safety, pins and screws, etc. I suppose a non-removable squib would do me in for the match as I do not have a spare barrel. I feel that I have as much insurance this way as I can afford.

I can't afford a back up either, so I carry a few spare parts and I shoot with friends who have guns. I've never been to a match where, if I broke a gun, someone didn't offer to let you use theirs to finish. Shooters are a great bunch of guys :D

murphy at its best. you had a problem and got a backup. since you've carried the backups, you havent needed them.