Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

To early to clean my xd?

cali shot doc

I just got my xd last week and i have put about 500rounds through it. Is it to early to give it a good cleaning? It's shooting pmc bronze and reloads i got at a local gun show. (9mm)

How often do you give your guns a thorough cleaning with lube and oil and solvent?

newbie here!

It won't hurt it if you clean it now.

As a matter of fact, whenever I buy a new gun, I clean and lube it the way I like it, before I ever shoot the first round.

My Glock gets a field strip clean and a drop of oil every 600-1000 rounds (whether it needs it or not) and a detail clean probably every 1000-1500, depending how much time I have.

Enjoy the new toy! :cheers:

i clean mine everytime i shoot it. it dont hurt to clean your gun. i have never had a malfunction to date out of my G34 and i bet its because i clean and oil it after every use. i dont understand why people dont clean there guns more often :wacko:

i dont understand why people dont clean there guns more often :wacko:

Because improper cleaning is responsible for more damage and wear to gun barrels than almost any amount of shooting.

I oil the bore to keep it from rusting, but there's no reason to keep it squeeky clean. I'd rather wear it out with bullets than scrub my guns.

I also used to clean my guns a lot more. Now I shoot a lot more and clean less. I spend my time at home reloading instead of cleaning guns.

i have never over scrubed my barrel? if your doing that then you need to learn how to clean your gun PROPERLY! if your wearing your gun out cleaning it you need some help from someone that knows what there doing... your not going to convince me that cleaning is a bad thing. mine are SQUEEKY CLEAN!! and never a problem. i also shoot alot but also maintain my equipment. :roflol:

Shooting it until it jams in a match be not necessarily be the most advantageous OP.