Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Do I need a 2011?

narwhal

Hi,

I'm a beginning competitor. I've shot about half a dozen IDPA matches. I shoot an M&P 40 pro series with night sights. I've been practicing for a few months, both dry fire and movement/steel/accuracy drills at the range. I can get about a 1.8 draw and shoot on a 6" steel plate from 15 yards....knock down a 6 plate rack in about 7 seconds, splits are in the .3-.5 range for targets from 7-15 yards.

A friend let me shoot his STI Edge 2011 .40 the other day. When I was shooting plate racks with it I was taking about 1.5 seconds off my times and it felt like there was no recoil, even with the major pf 180gr rounds I was shooting. With the M&P I probably average 2 misses on 15 yard plate racks, with the STI it was 1 or 0. The trigger was just unbelievable compared to what my M&P has.

I was thinking I might want to look into an STI eagle 2011 w/ a barrel bushing since I could use it for both sports (ipsc, idpa). Is the trigger on these guns comparable to what the Edge has? Am I wasting money moving to a high end gun considering my level of experience? In part, the 2011 is hard to justify since I wouldn't really be able to use a 2011 for anything other than gaming, whereas my M&P's are concealed carry pieces.

Thanks for the advice.

No one needs one...but like you, once I tried one I definitely wanted one, too.

Scratched that itch recently and am really enjoying the new iron.

Should be the same trigger and trigger parts in either, BTW.

:cheers:

Curtis

Edited by BayouSlide

I have been shooting an M&P Pro 9 in production for a year or so. Great shooter for that division. I recently came into an STI Edge. I haven't shot it very much yet but even as at major power factor it is a very flat shooting gun compared to my M&P. I do like them both. I hate to put one down to shoot the other.

Welcome to the forums. :cheers: