Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Is 3n38 to gassy for a trubor.

magpulled

I've got a Cameron's open gun with a trubor barrel with no popple holes. Someone told me recently that  3n38 is a little gassy for my gun. It seems OK to me with not very much dot movement but I am new to open. What's y'all's opinion on this subject

1 hour ago, magpulled said:

Haha. 

Would you say win AC is comparable to 38. I'm getting tired of paying 40 per lb. I've got a lb of hs6 to try as well. 

AC is a lot faster than 3n38.

If you want something much more comparable that's less expensive, try AA#7.  

I have a custom in that I build with trubor barrel for Cerakote, pistol is shot with 3N38 and Fiocchi bullets (pf180?) and the comp is clean, no lead or powder residue build up.

guns shoot flat (3, 5mm popple holes), the owner has a SVI IMM in .38 super and prefers the 5" trubor with holes. (flatter, not as loud and violent as the SVI)

I have a .38 super almost finished with a stock trubor barrel and a STI long wide (edge) frame, gun is also verry flat shooting with the 3N38 loads

gr T

7 hours ago, magpulled said:

I'm shooting 38 sc with a 124 pd jhp. I've only shot a couple k with an open gun but so far so good. I'd like to shoot a powder that's not as costly but will perform close to 3n38

Yeah so would I... there is NONE. 3n38 cost so much because it's so good. The best is usually not cheap. I am not putting anything else in my open guns.

17 hours ago, 3gunDQ said:

Too much gas? For a comp? Bullshit. 

Not bullshit.  It is possible to generate too much gas for a comp, especially if there are no poppels.  If you are jetting a lot of gas out the front because you do not have enough baffles or ports in your comp to exhaust most of the gas, you have too much gas.  That produces a harder hit to your hand and a more violent slide action.  A Brazos magazine article (on his site) shows how to test.