Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

I was going through some of my reloading stuff yesterday, and really got a laugh. I like to save a buck whenever I can, and found possibly the cheapest thing I had ever done. Sure, it doesn't bother me picking up brass, and reloading is another way of saving money, and I might one of the last people that still cast bullets but.....

Thinking that bullet lube was way overpriced, I mixed 12 sticks of bullet lube with 3 blocks of "Gulf Wax", you know the kind used in canning foods. I melted it down and poured it back into the clear plastic tubes and stashed it away. It seems to work ok, not any more smokey or dirty than "undiluted" bullet lube.

So, I was thinking, what is the cheapest thing you have done, shooting related of course..........

Mike

Mike

I guess the cheapest thing I did shooting related was to dig out the bullets I fired into the berm to remelt them and recast them. I am a bit beyond that now, but I remember the day when I graduated to "buying" wheel weights to melt them down. It was a relief not to have to explain why I had my pistol and my shovel...

Back when I was monetarily challenged I picked up a half-dozen .45 acp mags at a gun show for about 5 bucks a piece. They were in military wrappers (or so I thought) and I figured, hey, they're not Wilson's, but if they are good enough for Uncle Sam, they're good enough for me. Every one of those mags lasted for about fourteen rounds before the feed lips spread to the point the mags wouldn't eject and had to be pounded out of the mag well. If you squeezed them back into dimension they would malfunction in less than 7 rounds. Lesson learned.

The other cheapskate memory is a bit fonder. It is of loading hundreds of rounds of .41 mag in my folks livingroom on my Lee hand press using the Lee calibrated dippers, and conning my brother into helping out when the blisters started. :) This style of reloading is recommended for the dirt poor only!