Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Dillon 550 Bulge in brass

DS26

I have been reloading 9mm ammo for years this said I’m no expert!

I always chamber test every round before I bring them to the range lately I started to have an unacceptable amount of failures 3-4% they all seem to have a slight bulge just above the rim.  I have attempted to adjust my first stage case resizing die I seem to be able to make it worse but having a hard time making it better.  I’m hoping someone can share with me a trick to setting this die or tell me what I might be doing wrong.

First off is your die contacting the shell holder firmly? If not you may be contributing to the bulge by not resizing as far as possible. Even though they may not have the “Glock bulge” you might just run them through a bulge buster to iron them out. Be forewarned that if they are stretched excessively they may be thin and should just be tossed. I had some “glocked” brass that I busted and even though they load fine they are right at 35 fps slower than the same brass that’s not been busted. Just something to note when at the chrono. 

A regular sizing die can't size all the way down but the Lee dies seem to get about as close as possible. The only way to get rid of the bulge is with a roll sizer or a push through die of some sort. 'Glocked brass' was a big issue several years ago with the first generation of Glocks but that seems to have been resolved for the most part and you don't see that much anymore. I agree with RJH that the brass was probably shot in a 9mm Major Open gun and it's best to just toss it. My best friend shoots 9mm Major in Open, and he never picks up his brass to reload it. He says "One and done!"

Edited by 392heminut

The extremely bulged case web OP described is becoming more common.  I’ve had more in the last month than in the previous five years.  Some model of gun out there must be responsible.

2 minutes ago, Dr Mitch said: